jump to navigation

Excitement… January 27, 2009

Posted by handspiker in Uncategorized.
Tags: ,
trackback

As I sit here in my classroom I can feel the excitement building for term two of the 2008-2009 year.  Part of this excitement is this class, but also a couple of ideas that I have been kicking around in my head for technology use.  One of the subjects that I will be picking up this term is Work Experience.  Since I have not taught this before I naturally hit up some previous teachers for ideas/notes, heck anything I could get my hands on.  One of them mentioned that students did weekly journal reflections on their work placement.  He mentioned one of the problems with this was the students forgetting to drop off the blogs the week after their placement (when they came back to Carpenter for their other classes).

So with my mind racing I wonder if blogs could be an answer to this?  A good majority of students have access to computers at home (judging by my past term’s classes) or else have access here at school.  They are rather simple to use, easy to set up, and even on dial up they don’t take a lot of time to load.

The best that can happen is that it succeeds and the worst that can happen is it fails and I go back to the drawing board.  I do see some pluses though.  Firstly a lot of students are comfortable with computers and prefer to work on them instead of handing in a written assignment.  Secondly this could be a way to keep in contact with them when they are not in front of me during their work placement (sounds like 2.0 to me).  Thirdly I could monitor these journals weekly with Google Reader.  This would be a bonus as I can see and monitor when they post and if they are doing so weekly.

Will this work?  Who knows?  Regardless it should be a fun learning experience.

Comments»

1. Ian H. - January 27, 2009

Sounds like a great idea!

2. Bud Hunt - January 27, 2009

Yes. Try it. By all means. There’s nothing wrong with using writing to be reflective about one’s work – and there’s certainly nothing wrong with sharing that thinking with others.

Best of luck,

– Bud

3. Becca - January 27, 2009

I had a class in grad school that required blog posts 2 times a week to a group blog. The group blogs (4 ppl/blog) made it easier to manage reading others’ posts regularly. While it seemed like a pain, it was SO MUCH EASIER to post to a blog than to write a paper reflection. The informality of the medium and the ability to post something the second before it was due were the best. We were also held accountable to deadlines by our group…and the blog’s timestamp.

Our blogs were about the books we were reading – our reflections on the text and our reflections on class discussions. None of this was particularly personal. People might be wary of making public reflections on their work experience…but might benefit from the potential for feedback from peers.

4. Scott S. Floyd - January 28, 2009

I have to agree. It sounds like the right tool for the job and should provide some great experience for them and you. Like you said, the worst that could happen is that it fails and you try something else. No harm, no foul.

Congrats on trying something new.

5. Catherine DeSimone - January 28, 2009

Yes, try using a blog. I used to require my students to type weekly reflections on reading – print and turn in. It was like pulling teeth to get them to turn them in. I started using nicenet.org at first now I have a blog on our school website! Instant feedback! It is GREAT!

6. Zac Chase - January 29, 2009

Sounds excellent. Have you thought about trying to read the blog of someone who’s been blogging for a while to find model blogging/reflection?

handspiker - January 29, 2009

I actually have not done so Zac. I have been doing blogs for three of my courses (I think) so far. So I think I am doing ok with my own reflections. I know they don’t tend to be rfeflections online but in thinking and looking at what I wrote they tend to give me these ideas. So in a way I am reflecting. If you know of any please feel free to drop me a line. I use some of my other classmates as inspiration to blog and reflect.


Leave a Reply

