jump to navigation

Reflecting back… January 20, 2009

Posted by handspiker in Uncategorized.
Tags:
trackback

Last week as I watched the “history of technology” I had to admit at first I was a little sceptical about the value of the lesson.  I appreciated it on my level as a history teacher, understanding and believing that to appreciate where one is know we have to understand past events and where they have led us.  This scepticism was quickly erased by the entertainment that quickly ensued within the lesson.  I think the lesson itself was entertaining and I could enjoy it on that level, but the nagging persisted as to why I needed to know this.  I think like two great magicians the lesson came to a climax with the last PowerPoint slide and the last line for me.  WOW!  Whatever technology we use, whether it seem archaic (like some may think) or not, if we take the time to plan it well, execute it to the best of our abilities it can be just as worthwhile as some of the newer technologies.  Technology may seem to go out of date but those are the perspectives of some people, not all.  Some of the technologies that were shown could have some great value still.  Talk about slight of hand.  I never saw that coming.  That last point, more than anything else up to then, really challenged some of my preconceived perspectives.

Comments»

1. stephen king - January 21, 2009

Good point Todd. I felt the same way about the presentation and wondered what it was all about! It was entertaining, but the point they made about doing it well is every bit as important today as it was way back then!


Leave a Reply

